Reel Bay

Reel Bay

A Cinematic Essay

Jana Larson

$16.95

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

Perfect for readers of Maggie Nelson’s The Red Parts, this book is a unique mixture of screenplay, memoir, art criticism, travelogue, and true crime investigation. The connection to cult classic film Fargo gives the book a strong hook, and from the very first page, curiosity about the alternating styles as well as the mystery of Takako’s life and death provide momentum and pull the reader along. There will be regional appeal in the Midwest and in California. Reel Bay fits perfectly on our list next to other genre-bending titles like Time is the Thing a Body Moves Through, Empty Set, and Unbearable Splendor.


Author

Jana Larson:

Jana Larson holds an MFA in Creative Nonfiction Writing from Hamline University, where she studied with Barrie Jean Borrich (My Lesbian Husband), Patricia Weaver Francisco (Telling: A Memoir of Rape and Recovery), and Jim Moore; an MFA in Filmmaking from the University of California, San Diego; and a BA in Anthropology from the University of California, Santa Cruz. As a filmmaker, she has received awards from the Princess Grace Foundation and the Minnesota State Arts Board and shown her work at festivals and the Walker Art Center. She lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Info

Reviews